O’Rourke Drops F-Bomb on Live TV in Concession Speech After Texas Midterm Loss to Cruz

Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) defeated Rep. Beto O’Rourke (D-Texas) on Tuesday in a divisive 2018 midterm election to stay in control of his Texas Senate seat. Following the loss, the Democrat used colorful language in his concession speech.

Adria Malcolm/Reuters

In the speech, O’Rourke praised his Texas supporters by saying he was “so f**king” proud of them — and his remark was aired on live television. He said:

“Tonight’s loss does nothing to diminish the way I feel about Texas or this country. […] I’m so f**king proud of you guys.”

MSNBC anchor Brian Williams later apologized for not censoring O’Rourke’s word choice.

“Sorry for the F-bomb,” Williams said. “We have no control of what’s in the concession speeches.”

Watch the video below:

Cruz’s win in the Texas Senate race helped the Republican Party keep control of the Senate following the midterm elections.

Cruz received 50.9 percent of the votes, while O’Rourke trailed close behind with 48.3 percent of the votes.

During his concession speech, O’Rourke mentioned that he spoke with Cruz to congratulate him on his victory and “to wish him well.”

Justin Sullivan/Getty Images

O’Rourke then told his fanbase that during this “time of division” in politics, one thing that can be done to encourage Cruz in the Senate is to “ensure that Texas helps to lead this country in a way that brings us back together around the big things that we want to achieve.”

Watch the video below:

Cruz took a moment during his victory speech to “congratulate” O’Rourke, noting that “he poured his heart into this campaign.”

Cruz then made it known that he is sitting in the Senate for all Texans:

“Let me say to all of those who worked on his campaign, all of those who were inspired, that I am your senator as well. My responsibility is to represent every Texan.”

Justin Sullivan/Getty Images

Watch Cruz’s victory speech below:

Cruz’s successful re-election bid added to the Republican Party keeping control of power in the Senate, while the Democratic Party flipped the House of Representatives, holding a 220-193 majority.


Comments are closed.