Senate Republicans Block Bill To Create Jan. 6 Commission


Senate Republicans blocked a bill passed by the House of Representatives to establish an independent commission to investigate the U.S. Capitol riot on January 6.

In a 54-35 vote on Friday, the legislation did not pass. Ten Republicans were needed in order to pass the bill.

Among the Republicans who voted for the legislation were Sens. Mitt Romney (Utah), Susan Collins (Maine) Lisa Murkowski (Alaska), Ben Sasse (Neb.), Bill Cassidy (La.), and Rob Portman (Ohio).

Biden Suggests We Could See 'American Troops Fighting Russian Troops' if He Doesn't Get His Way

On the Senate floor, Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) said, “I do not believe the extraneous ‘commission’ that Democratic leaders want would uncover crucial new facts or promote healing. Frankly, I do not believe it is even designed to.”

He added, “That’s why the Speaker’s first draft began with a laughably rigged and partisan starting point, and why the current language would still lock in significant unfairness under the hood.”

Prior to the vote, Senate Majority Leader Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.) said, “If our Republican friends vote against this, what are you afraid of? The truth? Are you afraid Donald Trump’s big lie will be dispelled? Are you afraid that all of the misinformation that has poured out will be rebutted by a bipartisan, down the middle commission?”

Truth and Accuracy

Submit a Correction

We are committed to truth and accuracy in all of our journalism. Read our editorial standards.

, , ,
Comment Down Below