Voting Is Now Open for IJR’s Third Annual Cutest Dogs on the Hill Com(pet)ition

Update: The finalists have been chosen, and can be voted on here

It’s time for IJR’s annual Cutest Dogs on the Hill Com(pet)ition! 

Every year, government officials, congressmen, their staffers, journalists, and anyone who works on or near the Hill send in their very good dogs so the American people can decide on who is the cutest.

The link to the voting website is here and at the bottom of this page, but be sure to learn about the competitors furst. Here they are!


Ragnar is a white Havanese dog, and he belongs to U.S. Secretary of the Interior Ryan Zinke. A pilot program for “Doggy Days at the Department of the Interior” was launched last year to help improve employee morale.

Heather Swift


Tucker is a golden retriever who belongs to Calvin Moore, the regional press secretary for the National Republican Senatorial Committee (NRSC). Tucker has been given the job of being the NRSC’s Chief Barketing Officer.

Calvin Moore


Sebastian is a pit bull/Lab mix, and he belongs to Wynne Leahy, who is a digital director in the U.S. Senate.

Wynne Leahy Wynne Leahy

Chesty XV

Chesty the 15th is an English bulldog who is currently in training to become the Marine Corps’ new mascot after Chesty the 14th retires. The mascots live at Marine Barracks, Washington, D.C., and are named after five-time Navy Cross recipient Lt. Gen. Chesty Puller.

Caleb Hull/IJR Caleb Hull/IJR

Lady Bird

Lady Bird belongs to Mike Fischer who works as a legislative aide in the U.S. Senate.

Mike Fischer Mike Fischer


Sadie is a King Cavalier cocker spaniel, and she belongs to Rep. Karen Handel (R-Ga.). The Handel family has a tradition of naming their female dogs after role models. She is named in honor of Sadie Robertson from “Duck Dynasty.”

Stami Williams


Shiner belongs to Garrett Haake, a Washington, D.C.-based correspondent for MSNBC.

Garrett Haake Garrett Haake


Murphy is a golden retriever, and he belongs to Julie Tarallo, communications director for Sen. John McCain (R-Ariz.).

Julie Tarallo Julie Tarallo


Rosie is a corgi and belongs to Olivia Petersen, who works as the senior director of communications for NBC News in Washington, D.C.

Olivia Petersen Olivia Petersen


Fitzgerald is a toy Australian shepherd, and he belongs to Amanda Mayfield, who works at the Washington Examiner as a writer and social media producer.

Amanda Mayfield Amanda Mayfield


Riggins is a Welsh terrier, and his owner is Joanna Rodriguez, communications director for Rep. Carlos Curbelo (R-Fla.).

Dan Ardura/IJR Joanna Rodriguez


Charlie is a corgi, and his owner is Daniel Keylin, communications director for Sen. Thom Tillis (R-N.C.).

Daniel Keylin Daniel Keylin


Lou is a French Bulldog, and his owner is Lachlan Markay, who is a Washington, D.C.-based reporter for the Daily Beast.

Anna Massoglia Anna Massoglia


Beatrice, also known as Queen Bea, belongs to Austin Weatherford, chief of staff for Rep. Adam Kinzinger (R-Ill.).

Maura Gillespie


Bart belongs to Saba Hamedy, a Washington, D.C.-based politics reporter for CNN and co-author of “The Point with Chris Cillizza” newsletter.

Saba Hamedy Saba Hamedy


Grunt is a French bulldog who belongs to April LaFever, a Washington, D.C.-based associate producer and writer for Fox News.

April LaFever April LaFever


Pluto is unique to our list, as he is truly a bi-paw-tisan doggo since his owners work in separate offices. One works in Rep. Tom Cole’s (R-Okla.) office, and the other works in Rep. Diana DeGette’s (D-Colo.) office.


Levon belongs to Caitlin Legacki, who used to work in McCaskill’s office and now works as vice president of communications for corporate responsibility at JPMorgan Chase & Co.

Caitlin Legacki Caitlin Legacki


Hank is a boxer, and he belongs to Kara Ahern, chief of staff to Rep. Liz Cheney (R-Wyo.). Hank is in the office every day and is very popular with the Capitol Police.

Maddy Weast Christopher Maloney


Maddie belongs to Nicole Tieman, press secretary for Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa). Maddie’s signature trick is saluting the Capitol Police.

Hannele Lahti Nicole Tieman

Initial voting will go through Friday of this week, and final voting will begin on July 16.

The winner will be announced July 24.

Visit our voting page or click below now to make your pick:


As with any election, it all comes down to turnout. Good luck to all the very good doggos.

What do you think?

9 pledges
Upvote Downvote

Starbucks Announces New Sustainability Efforts, Eliminating Plastic Straws by 2020

A Look at the Four Front-Runners for Trump’s SCOTUS Pick