Republicans on the Inaugural Committee Block a Resolution Acknowledging Biden as the President-Elect

Republicans on the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies (JCCIC) have blocked a resolution that would have recognized President-elect Joe Biden as the winner of the election.

The committee, comprised of three Republicans and three Democrats, failed to pass the resolution after all three Republicans opposed it.

The Republican members include Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (Ky.), House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (Calif.), and Sen. Roy Blunt (Mo.).

The Democratic members include House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (Calif.), House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (Md.), and Sen. Amy Klobuchar (Minn.).

Hoyer introduced the resolution, which would have said the committee is “preparing for the inauguration of the 46th President of the United States, Joseph R. Biden Jr.”

The motion added that planning was being done “in coordination with public health experts to ensure the health and safety of the American people as we observe this transition of power.”

In a statement after the resolution failed, Hoyer said, “The extent to which Republicans are refusing to accept the outcome of the election and recognize Joe Biden and Kamala Harris as our next President and Vice President is astounding.”

He went on to say that Republicans’ “deference to President Trump’s post-election temper tantrums threatens our democracy and undermines faith in our systems of elections.”

The JCCIC, established in 1901, has been “responsible for the planning and execution of the Inaugural Ceremonies of the President-elect and Vice President-elect of the United States at the Capitol,” according to the website.

It has been more than a month since the presidential election. While Biden has secured the necessary electoral votes to win the White House, Trump has refused to concede the election.

Instead, he has continued to make baseless allegations that there was widespread fraud that cost him his reelection bid. 

Trump’s Republican allies in Congress have largely been unwilling to acknowledge Biden as the president-elect.

report by The Washington Post found that roughly 88% of Congressional Republicans refused to say who they believe won the election. 

So far, 27 Republican members of Congress have said Biden won the election, while two have claimed that Trump is the victor. 


  1. “The Republican members include Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (Ky.), House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (Calif.), and Sen. Roy Blunt (Mo.).” Article

    What a bunch of petty children! Rest assured that this is exactly how the American Fascists will act for the whole 46th term, too. Why pine for bipartisanship when all we need are soft folding chairs and some Jiffy-Pop popcorn? Fools.

    We MUST elect better politicians.

    And Matt Gaetz is a tool.

Comments are closed.